Illinois  |  Elder Law

question bubble
11/12/09, 12:55 pm

Legal Question


What can I do to keep nursing home or state from taking home,money and other assets from me?

I am 54 years old retired from Chicago Transit Authority, single and have no children. I have a sister who is married with one daughter. I know my sister will not be able to take care of me if I get sick because she will be working. I am not sick but I need to know what steps to take before I do get sick. I live in Chicago, Illinois


question bubble
11/17/09, 2:52 pm

Legal Answer


You should discuss your concerns with a knowledgeable attorney. There are financial planning and estate planning methods available to help pay for at-home or nursing home care and/or protect one's assets from the spend-down provisions of Medicaid. However there are time restraints and for certain things to work, one needs to set plans in place several years before the need to enter a home/collect benefits.

Sincerely,

Paul Fine

(773) 968-6359

Paul Fine

Attorney address not available

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/17/09, 3:45 pm

Legal Answer


The best option is to buy a long term care policy. If this is not a option then you need some form of Medicaid planning. However, at your age I doubt I would do such a plan for you. Medicaid planning is very complex. You should consult with an attorney specializing in that area.

Gregory Turza

Law Offices of Gregory P Turza 350 S Northwest Hwy #104 Park Ridge, IL 60068

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search