In the State of Illinois, when an elderly person must go into a nursing home for Alzheimer disease, do they keep their home if adult children are still residing there or is the home taken over by the State and remaining residents must leave?
|
Read More Answered By: Steve Raminiak |
If the elderly person owns the house, or owned the house within five years of applying for Medicaid, then the house could be in jeopardy. Medicaid will usually only pay for a nursing home after most of an elderly person's assets have already been liquidated and applied to that person's care. If an elderly person enters a nursing home, without any expectation of returning to her residence, then the house will probably have to be sold to pay for such care if that person has no other assets. There are things that you can do to protect some of the proceeds of the sale of the house. Feel free to give me a call to discuss this. I won't charge for the phone call.
|
Chicago,
Questions Answered: 1259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
Evanston, IL
Questions Answered: 1184
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 582
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 555
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Palatine, IL
Questions Answered: 392
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 376
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-06-10
Park Ridge, IL
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-11
Wheaton, IL
Questions Answered: 257
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
► Secondary beneficiary My father was a top executive with Boeing and has a...
► Elder Law - Declared Incompetent I'm asking this question on behalf of a family...
► Medicaid countable Assets and gifting stocks Mom is in a nursing home. Dad is still...
► How to change power of attorney My grandmother passed away just a couple of days ago...
► Can elder abuse case be opened after death My grandmother's suffered from demetia...
► POA vs the Executor IS the POA the same as the Executor of the will?
► Elder abuse/intimidation My father is 89 y/o. He married my mother when my older...
More Elder Law questions and answers in Illinois| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press