Illinois | Elder Law
Legal Question
After two years in a nursing home and a diagnosis of Alzheimer's, my mother's doctor asked me (the sole caregiver) to become her guardian. My mother signed a resignation of trust to me in March 2009. I was originally named in her trust to become trustee in the event of her death. In April 2009, I began to give myself a small compensation for the work I do for my mother, such as paying bills, filing taxes, ongoing discussion with doctors/nurses regarding treating, paying bills, laundry, sewing. Do I need to report the compensation to the IRS.


