Illinois | Environmental Law
Legal Question
Private Lake or not
For many years Highland Lake was considered a private lake, the lake bottom being owned by the homeowners association. There is no public access to the lake. Since it is spring fed there is an overflow tube screened which runs on to the Renwood Golf course. Now we are told that the lake is a navigable lake and subject to IDNR rules. We stock our lake, control weeds etc. We have a rule no motors. We believe an ex policeman who wants to run his motor boat has employed the services of the IDNR officer to harrass the residents. Does the IDNR have rights on what we believe to be a Private Lake.


