Illinois | Environmental Law
Legal Question
I own a small commerical building in a small town in Illinois. The neighbor ran a gas station which had a leaking underground storage tank, LUST as the EPA calls it. The neighbor dug up the tank and filled in the hole, but never obtained Illinois EPA clearance. The EPA still has the case open, as my neighbor never had his property tested and cleared. I went to refinance my building in order to expand my businesss. The credit union required an environmental study which turned up the LUST report. The credit union required me to have my property tested to see if the leak had migrated or reached my property. The test results were cleaned, but I had to spend $1,890.00 to get them. Can I recover my cost?


