Legal Question in Family Law in Illinois

I was 16 and signed a birth certificuit for a child I was told was mine. 8 years later I have no contact with the mother or the child because the "new father" doesnt want me around. yet child suport and insurence ( which the mother does not want) is being taken monthly. Is there a way to remove me from the birth certificuit and end this unwanted obligation to this family?

Asked on 10/10/13, 3:30 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jonathan Shimberg SHIMBERG and CROHN, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Adoption by the new father is the only way.

Read more
10/10/13, 4:16 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8787 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now