Legal Question in Family Law in Illinois

Blatant delay tactics by petitioner, un-ethical practice by her attorney

Briefly, a friend is in the midst of a nasty divorce. The petitioner (wife) & her attorney keep using delay tactics, ie: bringing up old issues that have been dealt with, accusations of impropriety on his part as far as following a temporary court order from june, returning propety, no proof of payment of debt, etc. When in fact it is the petitioner who has not followed the court order from june, has not made monthly payments as court ordered, has not returned personal property as ordered in june, has consistantly and repeatedly lied about Respondant's (husband) actions, mis represented respondants' true salary so she could receive maintenance. Has numerous unpaid debts yet claims there is no marital debt. Petitioner's attorney has been given every piece of discovery material requested yet accuses of not receiving any. Petitioner has turned over partial discovery, has lied throughout discovery process, in court hearings, in a deposition. How does one end the nonsense, and hold the Petitioner and her attorney accountable for their lies and questionable ethics?

Asked on 1/17/04, 6:19 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mary McDonagh McDonagh-Faherty Law Offices
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Blatant delay tactics by petitioner, un-ethical practice by her attorney

Get a good attorney

Read more
1/24/04, 4:47 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8785 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now