Legal Question in Family Law in Illinois

If my husband buys stocks or does some investement secretly using money from our joint account under his name, is that a marital property? We are married for one and half years only. If we file for divorce, will that money or stock be equally divided between us or is that his money?

Asked on 7/25/13, 9:32 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You will need to prove the source of funds for purchase but if you can it is most likely going to be considered marital property and would have to be dealt with as such.

Read more
7/25/13, 12:44 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8788 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now