Illinois | Family Law
11/16/09, 5:12 pm
Legal Question
Can a man sue his wife for money spent without his knowledge during their marriage?
Can a man sue his wife for money spent without his knowledge during their marriage?
|
Read More Answered By: Jonathan Shimberg |
While the money earned during a marriage is marital property, that label only attaches at th time of filing of a dissolution of marriage action (divorce). If the wife spends money in her own name, and there is no action for divocr pending, I am unaware of any theory that would allow a man to sue his wife. Once a divorce is filed, the man MAY be able to claim that the money the wife spend was a dissipation of the marital assets, if the money for used to for the "purposes" of the marriage. |
|
Read More Answered By: John Steele |
You generally cannot sue a spouse for money matters under the general theory that it is damaging to the marriage. Once you file for divorce, your claiming that the marriage is essentially over. In other words, your going to need a divorce initiated to go after the money. Remember that the money she is spending is marital and you have no claim of her misspending the money while you too are still married. |
Highland, IN
Questions Answered: 7334
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 3776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Chicago,
Questions Answered: 1259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
Evanston, IL
Questions Answered: 1184
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 555
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 376
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-06-10
Lansing, IL
Questions Answered: 282
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Naperville, IL
Questions Answered: 239
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
► 19 year old son is in hospital for psychiatric evaluation. What information can the...
► Two people are not divorced. They are married to their former partners. They move in...
► My finacee broke our engagement a month before the wedding after all the wedding...
► My stepson has a wife, who has a cat that had kittens a while ago. There are now...
► What happend when my son's father is working with a different name and i want to get...
► I have custody of my son and receive child support from my ex-wife. My son is 18 and...
► MY and husband and his ex-fiance had a son and he signed the Voluntary...
More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Illinois| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press