Legal Question in Family Law in Illinois

I was married in central Illinois in 2007, she left me and took all my money in 2011. Now she wants a divorce. I have no money to file or hire an attorney. I now live in another state, am in a relationship and have a child.

What would happen if she filed in Illinois and I did not attend the hearing(s)? She and I have no children together or any joint assets. I literally have nothing to give her or anything she can take from me.


Asked on 8/24/13, 6:48 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jonathan Shimberg SHIMBERG and CROHN, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If she has a lawyer call the lawyer and ask what she wants. She may just want the divorce. If you have no kids and no assets, there is not much she can get.

Read more
Answered on 8/24/13, 6:58 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88953 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now