Illinois | Family Law
Legal Question
I married my husband in 1999 in Jamaica. We haven't been together as man and wife in 5 years, nor has he worked since then, and ever was the breadwinner. He even did one year's time after we broke up, for involuntary manslaughter, in self-defense. I wish to divorce him, but can't right now because of costs for divorce, I have asked him to sign a waiver regarding pension benefits from employment with previous union vestment, which occurred before we married. This is in the event that something should happen to me. He has moved from Chicago to Los Angeles. He agreed to sign but I don't know what document(s) to have him sign, or where to get them. Judge, I apologize for being so sour, but I am 10 years older than he is , I am 52, and I need to get on with my I married my husband in 1999 in Jamaica. We haven't been together as man and wife in 5 years, nor has he worked since then, and ever was the breadwinner. He even did one year's time after we broke up, for involuntary manslaughter, in self-defense. I wish to divorce him, but can't right now because of costs for divorce, I have asked him to sign a waiver regarding pension benefits from employment with previous union vestment, which occurred before we married. This is in the event that something should happen to me. He has moved from Chicago to Los Angeles. He agreed to sign but I don't know what document(s) to have him sign, or where to get them. I apologize for being so sour, but I am 10 years older than he is , I am 52, and I need to get on with my life, at this time. Can you help? Thanks in advance.


