Legal Question in Family Law in Illinois

I am a single mother in the state of illinois. The father's name is on the birth certificate. We have not gone to court to establish custody. I want to take our son to Virginia for Thanksgiving.... he said he would have me arrested for kidnapping.... can he do this?

Asked on 10/24/13, 3:31 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jonathan Shimberg SHIMBERG and CROHN, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No. He has no coiurt order for visitation. Yoiu can take the child anywhere. You can move anywhere.

Read more
Answered on 10/24/13, 4:28 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

89033 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Glen AshmanAshman Law OfficeAtlanta, GA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now