Legal Question in Family Law in Illinois

Is there a statute of limitations on child support in IL? The child in question is now 28 yrs old. Mother tried unsuccessfully to take father to court approximately 20 yrs ago. Child is now trying to contact father, just wants to connect, has never met him. He has never gotten any answers from his mother. He would like to do a DNA test if father is willing. If results are a positive match, will the father owe back-payment for all those years? Can the mother then sue the father for support? I don't believe the child is after support, only connecting

Asked on 9/09/10, 2:30 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jonathan Shimberg SHIMBERG and CROHN, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

CS is only obtainable until the child is 20. After that it is barred, if there is no prior order.-

Read more
9/15/10, 12:12 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88222 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now