Legal Question in Family Law in Illinois

Four years ago my husband sent me a filed copy of our divorce. I remarried. Last year I find out from his girlfriend that he never filed anything and the papers I have are forged. He refiled last week and now it is official. We are divorced. My question is am I now married legally to my second husband or is that marriage invalid?

Asked on 6/22/13, 6:29 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jonathan Shimberg SHIMBERG and CROHN, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Once he got divorced and your new husband stayed with you, knowing you were now divorced, then your second marriage becomes valid as a matter of law. You are legally married.

Read more
6/22/13, 7:37 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88222 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now