Legal Question in Family Law in Illinois

Three years ago I left my controlling ex and moved, with our children, 350 miles away. He then used my poverty and distance to claim custody of our children and came and got them from school and took them back to Chicago (I live in Southern Il. He has refused to let me see or speak to our kids since he took them from me. He has ensued a court battle for child support in Chicago and it has been very hard on me, both emotionally (I miss my children terribly since before this they never left my side) and financially (when I moved, I left everything behind and have been working my way back onto my feet) and has even caused me to suffer jail time after missing multiple court dates due to lack of finances and transportation. My question is basically, is there anyway for me to have my case moved from Chicago to southern Illinois and where can I find free legal services to help with my case. He has had a lawyer for the duration of this battle and I have not. Thank you.

Asked on 5/31/13, 7:56 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jonathan Shimberg SHIMBERG and CROHN, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

It is too late in he battle to get that relief. There are free or low cost attorneys available to you in Chicago. As long as the kids are here, the case is going to stay here.

Read more
5/31/13, 8:01 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now