Illinois | Immigration Law
Legal Question
Can judgments for unpaid credit card debt in U.S. make an alien not eligible to adjust status to lawful permanent resident in U.S. when a visa becomes available? Thank you.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Marc Seguinot |
Highly unlikely that a judgment for a unpaid credit card will render you unable to adjust your status. If, for example, the creditor were to bring cirminal charges, and win, then that would be a different story. But from the facts you have set out, it looks as if when the time comes that a visa is available, you should be okay. Please note: if you entered the U.S. legally on a visa or other application for permission to enter that was granted, you will be eligible to adjust your status and get your green card here in the U.S. On the other hand,if you entered the U.S./ without a visa you will be subject to returning to your country and consular processing. Unless, of course, President Obama begins some work on these immigration "rules and regulaltions. The best of luck to you. I remain, Respectfully, Marc Seguinot |
Top Attorneys in IL
Law Offices of Brian D. Lerner, A Professional Corporation
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 1043
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
George M. Zuganelis, Attorney at Law, P.C.
Chicago,
Questions Answered: 1036
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Law Offices of Motty Stone
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Law Offices of Michael S. Cho
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 560
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Shestokas, & Associates
Fort Myers, FL
Questions Answered: 492
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-28
Ajay K. Arora, Attorney-at-Law, P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Rebecca White
Seattle,
Questions Answered: 296
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Law Offices of Seeta Nangia
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
The Tracy Firm, Ltd.
Naperville, IL
Questions Answered: 239
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Lee Lane Smith LLP
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 223
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-12-06
Search Questions and Answers


