Illinois | Immigration Law
11/04/09, 5:01 pm
Legal Question
If I petitioned for my first husbands citizenship 13yrs. ago. Can I petition for my current husband's citizenship now?
If I petitioned for my first husbands citizenship 13yrs. ago. Can I petition for my current husband's citizenship now?
|
Read More Answered By: Luba Smal |
Normally, yes, you can petition for your current (second) husband's permanent residency (green card), which is not the same as citizenship. He might become eligible for US citizenship in the future, after being a permanent resident for a requisite number of years.
If you’d like to schedule a telephone legal consultation, please let me know, and I’d be glad to help: Attorney [@] law-visa-usa.com
Note: The above response is provided for legal information purposes only and should not be considered as legal advice. This response doesn’t create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of a fee. If a follow-up advice on your specific situation and regarding U.S.A. immigration-related issues is requested, we can offer a paid consultation by telephone or email to clients from all States and globally. Please visit our website http://www.law-visa-usa.com/contact_us.html for more details. Our contact email address is Attorney [@] law-visa-USA.com
|
|
Read More Answered By: Michael Cho |
Yes, you can petition for your current husband's lawful permanent residence as long as you were legally divorced from your previous husband and meet all other requirements.
You may find detailed information on the process here:
http://www.msclaw.com/Green_Card_for_Spouse.html |
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 1043
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Chicago,
Questions Answered: 1036
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 560
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Fort Myers, FL
Questions Answered: 492
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-28
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 356
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Seattle,
Questions Answered: 296
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
Naperville, IL
Questions Answered: 239
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 223
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-12-06
► I married a US citizen for 3 years and got my green card, after the 3 mentally...
► Me and my family approved asylee by the ins in 2001 and the application they holding...
► I am in the US on visit visa (B-2) few days back i shoplifted items worth 127...
► I graduated high school, I've been married to a US citizen for 2.5years and have a...
► I am a permanent resident since 08/2000. In 2004 I was arrested for theft and...
► I recently withdrew the petition with immigration for my husband's green card thus...
► I have been married to american citizen for almost 5 years, he applied for my green...
More Immigration Law questions and answers in Illinois| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press