Illinois  |  Insurance Law

question bubble
11/16/09, 10:58 pm

Legal Question


I hired a contractor to do some concrete work at my home. He rented a skid steer, and in the time he used it did something to it which the engine seized up. The company who it was rented from picked it up the next day and asked the contractor some questions. Here we are 15 months later and I get a letter from a lawyer stating that I am fault and expected to pay for the damages, totaling $5600.00 bucks due to the fact they cannot find the contractor. The recommended that I should get with my insurance company, or arranged personal payments with their firm. I do not think I should have to pay for any of this. I never picked the unit up, returned it, used it or signed the contract. Any info would be appreciated. Thank you.

Chris


question bubble
11/22/09, 12:31 am

Legal Answer


You don't owe them any money, however there is a cost associated with defending this position. Perhaps a quick call to the attorney general's office. Otherwise cost of defense might be as much as they are requesting.

Ask the attorney for his theory of liability...maybe as subcontractor?

Joseph Michelotti

Michelotti & Associates, Ltd. 1200 Jorie Blvd. Suite 329 Oak Brook, IL 60523

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search