Legal Question in Employment Law in Illinois

I am an employee for a large insurance corporation and work in a call center setting where I answer in bound calls. They monitor and apparently watch everything on my computer screen. I was under the understanding they only monitored the calls and screen during calls however I was dead wrong! I was called into a meeting the other day and they had screenshots of chats that I had an also Personal Email screenshot from where I had access to my personal email. the company obviously does prohibit those actions being done while working however they do allow for those types of things to be done on personal breaks. I may have not been on breaks when I access the account um but I still feel like my privacy has been compromised. I received a verbal warning but now I'm thinking I should have obtained copies of the screenshots they had. What should I do now?

Asked on 8/15/13, 5:56 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Chen Kasher Chen Kasher
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You don't really have any expectation of privacy in your workplace. They own the computers and can monitor your activity. I'd learn from this experience and avoid accessing anything in the future.

Read more
8/15/13, 6:49 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88283 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now