Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Illinois

I have a friend who is legally blind, lives alone in a 3 bdrm apt. which he pays 1/2 of his social security in rent for. Recently, he has been battling diabetes, renal failure with dialysis 3x a week, a stint in his heart and recently 3 toe's amputated. My friend asked myself and a mutual friend to come and assist him while he re-cooperates. We came over for 5 days, then went back home for 5 days. Came back to get his blood work-ups preparing for his foot surgery (amputation), we have been here for 13 days now. My friends landlord is asking his tenant to pay an additional $400.00 per month because we have been coming back and forth staying for short periods with our 3 dogs,1 cockatiel bird but are not residing here, although we have brought a few things for comfort, such as clothing, blow-up bed, computers to still do our business and our dogs so we can care for them while we care for our friend. Is it legal for the landlord to require additional rent moneys from a disabled tenant in this position?

Asked on 7/09/13, 6:52 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes.

Read more
7/10/13, 12:15 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8805 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now