Illinois | Legal Ethics
Legal Question
In Illinois by law must an attorney provide a written retainer agreement and billing statements? If so what is the timeline for each?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Stephen Messutta |
No, but the lawyer should clearly identify in some way, preferably in writing, what his or her fees will be and how they will be billed -- flat rate, hourly, etc. Then you are BOTH at risk of a dispute but hopefully if both of you are honorable things will be ok. But if you don't know the attorney from adam (and even if you do) and if you want one and the attorney says you don't need one or don't worry, time to move on because the attorney isn't even giving you the basic contractual arrangement you desire. |
Top Attorneys in IL
www.looplawfirm.com
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 694
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Offices of Motty Stone
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Ashman Law Offices, LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
The Tracy Firm, Ltd.
Naperville, IL
Questions Answered: 239
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
The S.E. Farris Law Firm
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 225
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-22
Law Office of Jeffrey Friedman
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 194
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-24
LAWYERCHICAGO.COM - 773-544-1370
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 36
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
Attorney at Law
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 32
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-11-30
Accessible Attorneys
Skokie, IL
Questions Answered: 13
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-12-10
Law Office of Peter Ordower
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 8
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-09-11
Search Questions and Answers


