Illinois | Legal Ethics
Legal Question
My lawyer is ignoring me...
I am a legal worker under H-1B status. I have asked the lawyer in IL (I'm in MD) for a free evaluation of my resume to apply for a greencard under National Interest Waiver. He said I'm qualified and I decided to seek for his help. I paid to his service in FULL in Sept. 2001. A year later I have no clue if he has even applied my case to INS because he doesn’t give me any updates. I sent him e-mail numerous times for updates of my case. He doesn't reply to my e-mail. I started sending Express Mail so I can have records of delivery in mail, then he respond but without answers to my questions. I give him deadline for the response to mail but he responds to me via E-mail without answers. He recently responded to my Express Mail on deadline date telling me the office is closed today (Wed.) and he'll get back to me on Friday. I've sent 3 e-mails and left him 2 messages since that Fri. Still no response. I've been asking for updates past several months without success.
I need to get a greencard to work in US after expiration of my visa. I've already paid for his service. How do I get my money back? I have no money to hire another lawyer. What should I do to find out my greencard application status? What should I do with this lawyer?


