Illinois | Legal Ethics
Legal Question
I would like to know if I can sue a Realtor for unethical behavior?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Stephen Messutta |
That depends on a number of factors, like did the realtor represent you or someone else in a transaction, and did you suffer damages. Otherwise, real estate brokers are regulated by the State of Illinois and you can complain to the regulatory/licensing agency. If the realtor is a realtor-broker in a firm, you can certainly make your concerns known to the managing broker. But remember that if you simply say the broker is behaving unethically and you're wrong, you could be opening yourself up to liability for slander. |
Top Attorneys in IL
www.looplawfirm.com
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 694
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Offices of Motty Stone
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Ashman Law Offices, LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
The Tracy Firm, Ltd.
Naperville, IL
Questions Answered: 239
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
The S.E. Farris Law Firm
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 225
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-22
Law Office of Jeffrey Friedman
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 194
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-24
LAWYERCHICAGO.COM - 773-544-1370
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 36
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
Attorney at Law
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 32
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-11-30
Accessible Attorneys
Skokie, IL
Questions Answered: 13
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-12-10
Law Office of Peter Ordower
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 8
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-09-11
Search Questions and Answers


