Illinois | Personal Injury
Legal Question
I had an accident last week with my Toyota Camry LE 2010. And after what I heard about the acceleration pedal . I decided to sue Toyota. what is required to do so?
Legal Answer
You are talking about a products liability lawsuit against a major corporation-one of the most difficult types of cases that there are. You have to prove that the defect caused the accident and that you suffered damages. Usually, in these kind of cases, an expert engineer needs to be hired to examine the car very early. You should contact an attorney to represent you as this is not a simple case that can be handled without professional assistance.
Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove 2327 45th Street, Suite B Highland, IN 46322
► Other answers from this attorney
Legal Answer
First, you need to find out whether in fact the defect caused your accident. For that, you can hire an expert in automotive design to view your vehicle, review the design plans for the Toyota you drove, review the facts of the accident and other relevant records and data and come to an opinion one way or another. That will cost you about $30,000 to $50,000 or more. Once you have a positive opinion, then you will need to contact Toyota and tell them that you are making a claim against them based on the findings of your expert. You will then deal with their claims department who will want to review the data you have along with your vehicle. It is possible that you will have to make sure that you vehicle is preserved in the state it is until your litigation is resolved one way or another. You will have to get a storage where you can store the car safely and without contact to the elements so that the Toyota experts can inspect your vehicle. At this point, you should have your vehicle in storage already.
That's just to start. There are many many many other steps that must be taken before you can prove your claim.
I hope this helps- good luck.
Taradji Law Offices 120 North LaSalle Street, Suite 2800 Chicago, IL 60602
► Other answers from this attorney
Legal Answer
Dear Sirs,
You will need to preserve the car and not let any changes occur to it. Then you will need to conrtact an experienced attorney who is familiar with the rigorous requirements that are necessary to file a claim against Toyota.
We have practiced in this area for nearly thirty (30) years.
Best wishes,
John C. Wunsch
Law Offices
JOHN C. WUNSCH, P.C.
info@wunschlaw.com
Law Offices John C. Wunsch, P.C. 77 West Washington Street Chicago, IL 60602
► Other answers from this attorney
Legal Answer
You may wish to view the material at www.todayslawalert.com
Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove 2327 45th Street, Suite B Highland, IN 46322
► Other answers from this attorney

