Illinois  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
11/17/09, 4:26 pm

Legal Question


I crushed my pinky at work and was put on worker's comp. The insurance (state farm) called me to say that they will give me a settlment amount after my pinky is healed. She didn't mention how much. The bone was broke but not displaced, and lacerated - needing 6 stiches. The nail may not grow back and my pinky will probably look scared from getting so badly crushed. I was just wondering what is a reasonable settlement amount?


question bubble
11/22/09, 8:31 pm

Legal Answer


There are a number of factors involved including your disablity rating and prior income. You need to contact a comp. lawyer. If you need one, and live in the Chicago I will be happy to provide you with a referral.

Burton Padove

Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove 2327 45th Street, Suite B Highland, IN 46322

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/23/09, 1:41 pm

Legal Answer


You have a workmen's compensation case which will provide a settlement to you for disfigurement as well as loss of functioning to the hand itself.

Please call to discuss should you wish to retain an attorney.

Many thanks,

Law Offices

JOHN C. WUNSCH, P.C.

info@wunschlaw.com

John Wunsch

Law Offices John C. Wunsch, P.C. 77 West Washington Street Chicago, IL 60602

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/23/09, 2:15 pm

Legal Answer


With respect to the WC - there are formulas that are used which uses your wages, the type of your injures, your medical bills and such to come to a number. Speak with your attorney regarding this. If you do not have an attorney, you better speak to one if you want to make sure all your rights are protected--if you are counting on the insurance adjuster to be fair to you, you might as well believe in Unicorns.

You may also have a third party claim. For that, an attorney will have to examine the facts of your case, and see whether anyone else is also liable to you for your injuries.

If you have any questions or need clarification, you may call my office.

I hope this helps-

Nima Taradji

Taradji Law Offices 120 North LaSalle Street, Suite 2800 Chicago, IL 60602

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search