Illinois  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
10/29/09, 12:57 pm

Legal Question


Father-in-law asked his landlord many times to put a rail on the steps on the front of his apartment. The rail was not installed. He fell on the stairs and died from a cracked skull. Is there a potential wrongful death claim against the landlord?


question bubble
11/03/09, 1:36 pm

Legal Answer


I am very sorry for your loss.

It is possible to recover. However, a complete review of all the relevant reports, documents, and a site inspection are probably required to judge the strength of your case.

Timothy Lowery

Lowery & Associates, LLC
333 West Wacker Drive, Suite 420
Chicago, IL 60606

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/03/09, 2:28 pm

Legal Answer


Please accept my condolences. There are a lot

of factors involved. For example, was his request documented or witnessed?

Was this a common stairway leading to many

residences? Is there a written lease and if so

what does it say in terms of the landlord's

responsibilities? Is there a local building

code that may have been violated? There

may be a cause of action depending on

the answers to these and possibly other questions.

I represent injury victims and their families

throughout Illinois and Indiana. Please contact

me if you wish to discuss your situation further.

Burton Padove

Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove
2327 45th Street, Suite B
Highland, IN 46322

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/04/09, 10:15 am

Legal Answer


A terrible situation. Yes, there may be a recovery. All of the facts and circumstances

of the scene and the fall and prior discussions are relevant. The applicable law places a duty

of due care on the landlord. Until I am able to speak with you directly, I am unable to

give a definitive answer on the likelihood of recovery. This is general information only

and not legal advice. I would be glad to spend time with you and your family

for a free, no obligation consultation.

Thank you for your consideration.

Scott A. Blumenshine

Law Offices of Meyer and Blumenshine
105 W. Adams Street, 39th Floor
Chicago, IL 60603

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search