Legal Question in Personal Injury in Illinois

Is it legal for a perfect stranger to have a person forcefully detained in a psychiatric facility? I was in the privacy of my own home not bothering anyone when a member of clergy was sent to my home. I did not want to speak with him. He called the police. I answered the door to the police and told them I was fine. On clergy's request they broke the door down, had me handcuffed,and detained in a psychiatric hospital. I was degraded and had to explain over and over that I was not acquainted with said clergy. I was not treated but I was billed! What are my legal rights? Can I be compensated for my for this terrible ordeal?

Asked on 10/07/13, 11:50 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Chen Kasher Chen Kasher
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes, if you can prove these facts, this would be a cause of action for false imprisonment. Do you have any idea why the clergy had you detained?

chenkasherlaw.com

chenkasher@gmail.com

(773) 853-3062

Read more
10/07/13, 11:55 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Personal Injury Law and Tort Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now