Illinois | Personal Injury
Legal Question
Recently at a local supermarket, My truck & the car on my drivers side were within our respective parking lanes. When I attempted to enter my truck, and I am obese. I had to squeeze my door against the other vehicle and in the process I put about a 2 scratch on the car. The driver exited and went baullistc demanding payment for the scratch. His car had multiple scratches and the bottom panel was scraped from the back door to the front fender. I didn't cause the damage deliberately, but i did do the damage. I want to do the right thing but feel this individual sees me as Santa and wants Christmas on my dime this year. What is my liability?
Legal Answer
Your liability is for the damage that you caused and nothing else.
Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove 2327 45th Street, Suite B Highland, IN 46322
► Other answers from this attorney
Legal Answer
You are liable for the compensation for the 2" scratch you have caused. Have him take the car to a body shop of your choosing to get an estimate and then pay him that amount. If he doesn't want to accept, put your offer in writing, along with the estimate--do not editorialize or say I am sorry or talk about your life--just the facts--and send it to him. And that's that. Either he will accept your offer or he won't.
Taradji Law Offices 120 North LaSalle Street, Suite 2800 Chicago, IL 60602
► Other answers from this attorney

