Illinois  |  Personal Injury

Legal Question

Asked on: 9/15/13, 9:28 am

Last year my daughter broke her leg falling off my deck. She was in a body cast for 6 weeks. Her father is now trying to sue my landlord. He claimed he is her legal guardian, she is permanently disfigured and disabled and has continuous medical bills. Which is all lies. He just wants money. He's asking $50,000. He has never lived here. I am her guardian, she has no problems, and I have the medical card so even I haven't seen a medical bill. He has a lawyer and my landlord was already served papers. What can we do? Can't he get in trouble for lying?

3 Answers


Answered on: 9/15/13, 10:13 am by Joseph Brabender

If you are not a party to the lawsuit, then you will likely only be a witness. Your job will be to testify truthfully and let him worry about his own possible lies. Any money recovered would be the property of your daughter and her father would have no right to it. It would be protected by the probate court.

Generally either parent can bring a lawsuit on behalf of their child.

If you have further concerns, hire a lawyer.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Brabender & Chiang LLC 39 S. LaSalle Street, Suite 820 Chicago, IL 60603

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/15/13, 10:41 am by Chen Kasher

You will probably be subpoenaed as a witness. If your testimony is that adverse, the case will be dropped. Does your landlord have insurance? They will rip this case apart.

Disclaimer: not advice; I am not your attorney.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Chen Kasher 1642 E. 56th Street Chicago, IL 60637

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/15/13, 12:07 pm by Charles Candiano

As with ANY law suit, you MUST be able to prove your damages. Apparently, you ex will not be able to do that.

If your daughter WERE injured, NOBODY would get any money except Medicaid and your daughter. The money would be held in trust and could only be accessed if the Court signed off.

So, your assertion that your ex is looking for money is wrong. Whether $50.00 or $500,000.00, he would see $0.00, even if he WERE her guardian.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Candiano Law Office 53 West Jackson Blvd. Chicago, IL 60604

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

133 Answers given in the last few hours.

8661 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search