Illinois  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
11/17/09, 4:11 pm

Legal Question


Husband buys home prior to marriage and holds title to the property in his name alone. After marriage, husband refinances and wife signs waiver of homestead rights. She is not placed on title nor on the mortgage. Husband wants to sell the residence in which they both live. Must wife sign the warranty deed to transfer title in a property in which she does not hold title, after having already waived homestead rights in a mortgage? Illinois law


question bubble
11/22/09, 4:55 pm

Legal Answer


Yes she has marital homestead rights over and above statutory homestead rights.

Joseph Michelotti

Michelotti & Associates, Ltd. 1200 Jorie Blvd. Suite 329 Oak Brook, IL 60523

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/23/09, 1:10 pm

Legal Answer


I think that the proper answer to this question would depend on whether a proceeding for Dissolution of Marriage was filed.

Charles Dobra

Charles Wm. Dobra, Ltd. 675 East Irving Park Road - Suite 100 Roselle, IL 60172

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/23/09, 5:33 pm

Legal Answer


Just because she is asked to sign a deed solely to waive homestead rights and give a buyer clear title does not automatically give her rights to proceeds if that's your concern.

Stephen Messutta

Attorney address not available

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search