Legal Question in Telecomm Law in Illinois

I just moved into a new apartment. Today, I received a call on my cell phone from Farmers Insurance, who says they have a "partnership" with my landlord, offering to sell me renters insurance. They specifically named my leasing agent (him personally, not even the management company) as the source of my phone number. I have checked my lease, and I definitely did not authorize the management company to release my contact information to third parties for marketing purposes. My landlord claims this was a "mistake," but come on. Did he break the law?

Asked on 6/26/13, 6:26 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Chen Kasher Chen Kasher
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Possibly, yes, but what are your damages? Your best remedy is a civil suit, but without damages, there's very little any attorney can do.

chenkasher@gmail.com

(773) 853-3062

chenkasherlaw.vpweb.com

Read more
6/27/13, 6:30 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Telecommunications Law questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now