Illinois | Veterans Law
Legal Question
Disability Claim for Depression
I have had my claim denied for depression. While serving in the military I had see a physician asst. for symptoms which were ongoing for a year and then was referred to Psyc where he diagnosed me with depression (single episode). One and a half years later after my discharge symptoms arose again and I have been battling them now going on 8 years. Depression stemmed from separation from my 2 girls after a nasty divorce. At the time they lived in Michigan and I was in Virginia. I tried to get a hardship discharge and the Navy denied the request. Do you feel that the Navy would be responsible for my depression upon the fact that they would not let me out of the service early? I have a letter from my current dr and also the c&p doctor who both claim its service connected. Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated.


