Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Illinois

My mother died approximately 20 years ago. At the time I was on her bank account and cd as a joint owner. I removed the money and put into my own account upon her death, I was told by the bank it was mine. There was a will in which I was included. Because I took the money from the account and cd the executor decided that was enough for me even though the will stated everything should be split three ways. This was in Illinois. The executor never would share any information about liquidation of property and I never received anything else from the estate. Is there anything that can be done now

Asked on 8/31/13, 6:08 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Sue Roberts-Kurpis, Esq. Law Office of Sue Roberts-Kurpis
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Not likely. You should have done something at the time. Consult an attorney in your area and be prepared to pay a large upfront fee.

Read more
Answered on 8/31/13, 7:03 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now