India  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
10/30/09, 7:36 am

Legal Question


Hello,

I got married under HMA.I have lodged complain under sec 406 for recovery of my shreedhan.But police has not done anything.Then we met SP and told him.SP gave instruction to IC to give prayer to court for search warrant.But when we met IC he told us clearly that we have to give an prayer to court for search warrant through our lawyer.My in laws lives at noida and i live at kolkata where i have lodged FIR.But my lawyer is saying that if i will give an prayer to court through my lawyer for search warrant court will pass an interim search warrant.But police will not do anything with interim search warrant.They will only take action after permanant search warrant.BUt court will pass permanant search warrant only after accused party will receive summon .

1)Is it true that court will pas permanent search warrant only after opposite party will receive summon?

2)Is it true police is not legally bound to take action on the basis of interim search warrant?


question bubble
10/30/09, 8:34 am

Legal Answer


You should have filed a case under Dowry law, as your property is withheld by husband/ in laws.

Seshadri Srinivasan

www.lawconcern.com
7A Queens Court 130 Montieth Road Egmore Chennai
Chennai,india, NUS 600008

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
10/31/09, 3:03 am

Legal Answer


there is no need to send summons and the police is empowered to obtain search warrants from the court concerned to recover your stridhan.

RAJIV GUPTA

(Cell: +91 9811284735) lawnrajiv@gmail.com
Kar Vai Legal Solutions, Founder, 359, Western Wing, Tis Hazari Courts
Delhi, India., 110054

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search