India  |  Family Law

question bubble
9/05/08, 8:58 am

Legal Question


appeals and review u/s 498A.

I filed a FIR u/s 498A ,406,34,

313 and 3 & 4 of Anti Dowry Act

against my husband and father-

in-law at Kolkata in March last

year. But as my husband belongs to Assam , they filed a

bail petition at Gauhati high court, which was rejected and asked them to surrender at

Kolkata . But they filed a bail

petition at Kolkata Highcourt ,which was rejected . But they

escape arrest warant for the

last one year due to looseness

of police. Now after police file a

charge sheet in the court of

CJM , they surrender in the court

and immediately get the bail

without put in to custody.

Now wheather I am able to

file a review petition against the granting of bail or to appeal in the Kolkata high court

against the granting of bail order ? Please clearify & help me .


question bubble
9/05/08, 9:34 am

Legal Answer


Re: appeals and review u/s 498A.

You should not take any proceeding because once the police has filed a charge sheet in the court, their custody will be meaningless. It is surprising how the police could file a charge sheet without investigating the matter and for investigation purposes the police ought to have sought their custody. anyway, now gone is gone; just pursue your case. There is no right of appeal with you against the order passed by the trial court; However, if you ever find that they are misusing the concession of bail, you may approach the court for cancellation of bail but chances of cancellation are very very low.

You may also start fresh proceedings under the Domestic Violence Act in addition to 489-A proceedings; so that you get adequate maintenance/support and also proper accommodation for your living - if you feel the necessity.

Sudershan Goel

Attorney-at-Law (India)/ Visiting Scholar, UNC-CH USA
Sureme Court of India
New Delhi, 110001

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
9/09/08, 2:16 am

Legal Answer


Re: appeals and review u/s 498A.

It is better to procced with the case i.e. hearing etc as more the delay it will weaken your case.

Aniruddha Pawse

Aniruddha.P.Pawse Advocates
3,Ramchandra Smruti, Bhaskar Colony, S.V Rd, Naupada,
Thane(w), NUS 400602

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search