11/02/09, 2:54 pm

Question

------ need urgent help--------------------

Hi, I am an NRI and living in abroad since 4 years. I am working in abroad on work permit. I am still Indian citizen. The passport office impounded my passport 3 months ago based on pending NBW and criminal proceedings pending against me in Indian court . passport office sent show cause notice to my indian address before impounding my passport. As I am not living in India , the show cause notice were returned to passport office saying that person not found at that address. So the notice was not served to me.Passport office does not know my Abroad address. I came to know about the impounding order recently through some source. But the passport office has already impounded my passport. In this case,

1) How the passport office impound my passport with out serving show cause notice to me?

2) can the passport says that they already sent the notice to my Indian address .but it was returned to them and passport office do not know my abroad address. So they impounded my passport?

3) Even if the notice is not served, can passport office has the right to impound the passport?

4) when the notice is un served, in what way the passport office proceeds to impound the passport? ( suppose the passport can not find the person's address in abroad also, in this case, passport office publish the show cause notice in news papers?)

I have already approached 2 lawyers regarding this. But no one clear my doubts.

Pls Pls help me. Thanks in advance.


Answers

Service on your last known address is sufficient service in
1.Is there a direction from the Court issuing the NBW to pa
the passport office cannot send the notice on its own on su
Everybody advice you well now you have to appoint an advoca
  Next Question ►

 


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search