India  |  Real Estate Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 12/24/08, 2:36 am

stamp duty - Amnesty Scheme 2008

There have been a series of transaction on the property I am registering we are the 3rd owners of this property from the 1st transaction between builder & 1st buyer.

My legal consultant tells me that for this Amnesty scheme I can submit only the current sale agreement for stamp duty payment.

Pls clarify Firstly am I liable to pay stamp duty on previous transactions ,Is this necessary for transfer.If so are they covered under this scheme.Request an urgent response as scheme ends this DEC.This is for a property in Mumbai.

5 Answers


Answered on: 12/24/08, 4:59 am by Sachin Sangare

Re: stamp duty - Amnesty Scheme 2008

For getting your title cleared,you will have to pay stamp duty on all the previous agreements which are not registered and/or having defecit stamp duty. As the current owner is liable to pay all pending stamp duties. Please submit all the agreements


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Private Practise E-10,Rishikesh CHSL, Evershine Nagar,Malad [W], Mumbai, NUS 400064

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 12/24/08, 5:12 am by Homi Maratha

Re: stamp duty - Amnesty Scheme 2008

Hello.

You are liable to pay stamp duty of all the agreements and get it registered. This will be the most important part of your title report and clearance of the property.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


N.N. Maratha & Co.-Advocates Ahmedabad, NUS 380015

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 12/26/08, 12:37 am by Shrichand Nahar

Re: stamp duty - Amnesty Scheme 2008

Scheme already ended for receiving applications. It is open only for deciding on applications received till end of Dec'08


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


S.V.Nahar, Advocate Pune, 411004

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 12/27/08, 10:25 am by Sudershan Goel

Re: stamp duty - Amnesty Scheme 2008

The local counsel may be most suitable for advising in situation like this. You may better follow his advice.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Sudershan Goel - Advocate Supreme Court of India and Punjab and Haryana High Court New Delhi And Chandigarh, 110001+160

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 12/28/08, 2:17 pm by Prof.Somnath Mukherjee

Re: stamp duty - Amnesty Scheme 2008

To get clear title you have to pay the same.However if you want to get the benefit if have to do it hurridly.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


s.mukherjee associates,09874053359 7A Kiran Shankar Roy Road,2nd floor,Calcutta-700001 Calcutta, 700139

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search