Indiana | Criminal Law
Legal Question
can i call for a jury trial in a probation violation before a fact finding hearing is held
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jorge GEORGE Rodriguez |
Your right to a jury trial would have already been exercised or waived on the underlying matter. You should consult an attorney or if you cannot afford to hire an attorney ask the court to hold a hearing to determine if you qualify for a court appointed attorney. Your criminal defense lawyer can explain to you in more detail how and why the prosecutor only has to prove the probation violation by a preponderance of the evidence and only to the Judge - 50% plus anything that tips in favor of believing the violation is true. Hearsay evidence is also admissible. So witnesses can appear who testify as to what others have told them is true. |
Top Attorneys in IN
Rockhill Pinnick LLP
Warsaw, IN
Questions Answered: 1760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Hancock Law Office
Evansville, IN
Questions Answered: 427
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-20
Davis Law Office
Louisville, KY
Questions Answered: 288
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-10
Tambasco & Associates,P.C. Attornenys at Law
Indianapolis, IN
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-06-04
Coleman Law Office
Indianapolis, IN
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-26
Law Offices of Jorge "George" Rodriguez
Noblesville, IN
Questions Answered: 126
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-14
Marvin E. Coffey Attorney at Law
Indianapolis, IN
Questions Answered: 67
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-08-04
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
The Law Office of Ross G. Thomas
Indianapolis, IN
Questions Answered: 8
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-06-09
Rubino Ruman Crosmer Smith Sersic & Polen
Dyer, IN
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-11
Search Questions and Answers


