Indiana  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
11/17/09, 6:00 pm

Legal Question


if i am found not guilty in a jury trial for a d felony drug charge, shouldn't my failure to appear d felony (for that case) be dropped also? since in all reality i shouldnt have even had to go to court to begin with if i was not guilty.


question bubble
11/22/09, 7:08 pm

Legal Answer


I can see why you would think so. However, it sounds like you are saying you were tried in absentia and found not guilty but still have a pending accusation for having failed to return to court for the trial which was conducted in your absence. The lawyer you previously has on the case in which you were found not guilty should be able to explain this in more detail and help you understand and determine if you have a new charge related to escape for violating the conditions of your pretrial release or a criminal contempt charge for disobeying a court order. You should consult with an attorney who can arrange for you to surrender yourself and quickly resolve this remaining matter.

Jorge GEORGE Rodriguez

Law Offices of Jorge "George" Rodriguez 23 S. 8th St., Suite 2400 Noblesville, IN 46060

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search