Indiana  |  Education Law

question bubble
5/26/09, 9:11 am

Legal Question


Splitting up a spousal consolidation loan

I have been divorced now for a little over a year. When I was married my wife and I had consolidated our school loans, and when we split up, I had decided to be the nice guy and take up the payments. This was not in the divorce papers; however, with the economic times being as hard as they are, and having to worry about putting clothes on my back and a roof over my head, I cannot afford to make 'our' payments. Is there a way to split up a spousal consolidation loan, so that we are each liable for our own loans? What type of lawyer would I seek if the loan can be split up to what the original loans were?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search