Indiana | Environmental Law
Legal Question
dumping of fuel by incoming aircraft to local airport on residential area
Hello, we live near an international airport in Indianapolis and have recently become aware that jet fuel is being dumped on us by aircraft coming in to land. The exact reason is unknown but there is reason to believe it has to do with lightening the load on landing. While I understand this I do not condone dumping that fuel on a residential area. The local State Board of Health says that the fuel is present, and is being dumped. The airport denies it. We do have proof in that it is easily seen coming from the aircraft at times and the black gunk left by it on our homes and automobiles, not to mention being ingested and inhaled by persons living beneath this bathing in jet fuel. There are many families near here that have had members die from various cancers. While it's not necessary to see the dumping as the cause, it is certainly cause for concern. We are having this investigated by a local investigative reporter for an NBC affiliate. But we are curious as to if there have been other cases regarding this issue and the result of any legal action.
I am sure that others would object to having jet fuel dumped on their homes and breathing this cancer-causing agent.
Any assistence you can provide would be much appreciated.


