Legal Question in Family Law in Indiana

Pensions

I was divorced in 1980 and at that time I had no vested pension rights.In 1984 I became employed by a different employer where I have now established a pension.Now that I,m getting ready to retire my ex-wife feels she should be entilted to to a percentage of my pension.Am I right in assuming since a pension was never established at the time of the divorce she has no claims on something that I have developed after the divorce?

Asked on 4/29/03, 10:07 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Dorene Philpot Philpot Law Office
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Pensions

Your ex has NO rights to a company-sponsored pension that didn't exist at the time of your divorce.

Read more
4/30/03, 12:05 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Indiana

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88263 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now