Indiana | Family Law
Legal Question
What is the time line for child abandonment for a non custodial parent? My husband was given temporary full custody of a three year old and five year old in December 2008. The mother was only allowed to have supervised visitation. She maintained off and on contact until May 2009. She has not called or made any attempt to contact the girls since May. How long do we have to wait to file abandonment?
Legal Answer
One yr. For adoption purposes.
Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove
2327 45th Street, Suite B
Highland, IN 46322
Legal Answer
"Filing for abandonment" doesn't mean much unless you are planning to adopt the children. It also does not make sense that you call it "temporary", since once a final decree is entered in a divorce or paternity, there is really no such thing. What are you trying to accomplish?
Rockhill Pinnick LLP
105 East Main
Warsaw, IN 46580
Top Areas of Law


