Indiana | Immigration Law
Legal Question
I did not know if I needed to disclose my speeding ticket in my N400. So I did not. What should I do. My interview is on October 1st 2009. Let me know
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Luba Smal |
There is no need to disclose simple speeding tickets if there was no DUI, no arrest and fine was under $500.
Read carefully the instructions letter that you received from the USCIS with your interview appointment letter.
Note: The above response is provided for legal information purposes only and should not be considered as legal advice. This response doesn’t create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of a fee. If follow-up advice or consultation on your specific situation is requested, we offer a paid consultation by telephone or email. Please visit our website http://www.law-visa-usa.com/contact_us.html for more details. Our contact email address is Attorney [@] law-visa-USA.com
|
|
Read More Answered By: Marc Seguinot |
Your speeding ticket should be revealed. Section D of the application, No. 15 asks whether you have ever "committed" a crime or "offense" for which you were not arrested? The "or offense" could include a speeding ticket, an "offense" for which you WERE NOT ARRESTED. Question 16 asks whether you have ever been arrested, "cited" or detained for any reason? A speeding ticket is a form of citation, and the question is addressed as "arrested, cited OR detained" so it can be for any of those three, for any reason. Do not worry about not having disclosed it on your application. Advise the officer that you did not know exactly where to put it because you were not charged with anything criminal, nor were you arrested (if that is true). (Note: sometimes a speeding ticket could be charged as "reckless driving" which is, technically, a criminal offense not a civil offense.) It is a minor oversight, and the way the questions are worded would really confuse. They could ask the questions and add "including traffic violations or citations," or "do not include traffic violations or citations." Unfortunately, we do not pay the government to think, and who knows who makes these questions up. You will be fine. Good Luck! |
Top Attorneys in IN
Law Offices of Brian D. Lerner, A Professional Corporation
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 1043
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Law Offices of Michael S. Cho
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 560
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Ajay K. Arora, Attorney-at-Law, P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Rebecca White
Seattle,
Questions Answered: 296
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Law Offices of Seeta Nangia
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
Lee Lane Smith LLP
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 223
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-12-06
Manchanda Law Offices PLLC
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 137
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-15
Law Offices of Jorge "George" Rodriguez
Noblesville, IN
Questions Answered: 126
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-14
Law Offices of Isabella Mayzel
Springfield, NJ
Questions Answered: 52
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-19
Law Office of Liliana Loftman
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 44
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-21
Search Questions and Answers


