Indiana  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
11/04/09, 3:04 pm

Legal Question


I bought a property that has a secret 2nd note from the seller. It was not disclosed to the 1st at closing and has not been recorded. I know this because the 1st has been sold a few times and a title search did not discover a 2nd. The 2nd note does not have a deed attached either. I have fallen behind on the 2nd payments.

What legal standing does the 2nd have? Can he forclose or just sue me as an individual without consideration for the property? Would a 1st holder fight a foreclosure on this type of instrument? Would a judge throw it out based on these facts?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search