Indiana | Traffic Law
Legal Question
I got a ticket for failure to yield to emergency equipment. The police car was stopped at a light in the left turn only lane. The emergency lights were on but there were no vehicles pulled over. There were three lanes of travel and traffic had been stopped for red traffic light. The traffic light had turned green and traffic was just starting to move when I pulled into the traffic from a parking lot and signaled my way into the third/left most lane. I didn't see the police car until after I had pulled into the third lane. The number of vehicles in the two right-most lanes were moving slowly and I wasn't able to merge right so I slowed down and drove past the police car. After clearing the intersection the traffic thinned out and I was able to merge right into the second lane.
I feel this ticket is unwarranted because 1. I didn't see the emergency vehicle until after I pulled into the lane adjacent to the vehilce. 2. I was unable to quickly and safely merge right because of other vehicles in traffic. 3. I slowed my vehicle per statues as I drove past the lone stopped emergency vehicle.
Please advise as to my options for fighting this ticket.


