Indiana  |  Wills and Trusts

Legal Question

Asked on: 1/09/10, 1:01 pm

my father in law passed away July 30th 2008, leaving a 20 acre farm in Crawford County, IN. He had debt stemming from medical bills, and had filed bankruptcy. He was making payments on the debt through a bankruptcy lawyer. When he died, he left no will, and my husband and brother in law hired an attorney to get the estate into their names. It has been , it seems to me, too long, the estate should have been settled. I think their lawyer isn't doing his job, and I believe he is actually lying to them. I want to know if these things are true.: You have to hire an attorney from the county the property is located in. ...The judge has to wait a certain amount of time before he signs the estate over, to make sure no debtors come after it......and he said that the court had lost all of the paperwork and now he has to start from scratch a refile the entire thing. .. Any feedback will be much appreciated. Even if I'm wrong, at least I'll be able to relax about it. :) Thanks.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

212 Answers given in the last few hours.

7519 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search