Indiana  |  Wills and Trusts

Legal Question

Asked on: 1/15/12, 10:47 am

My wife is 44 and her mom just died this month at the age of 75.

The 3 surviving daughters are splitting the remaining cost of the funeral/headstone, etc.

My question is this;

Are we responsible for her mom's remaining personal debt? We are finding balances that are exceeding $9,000 in debt / loans tied to her mom.

Things like dentures, personal loans, etc.

The conversations between the 3 daughters and us their husbands are getting more opinionated as we try to figure out what to do.

Thank you,

Eric Nichols

Fort Wayne, Indiana

2 Answer


Answered on: 1/15/12, 2:34 pm by Jay Rigdon

No you are not responsible.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Rockhill Pinnick LLP 105 East Main Warsaw, IN 46580

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

153 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search