Legal Question in Appeals and Writs in Iowa

Before I start a time consuming process of appeal, I'd like to know if I have a leg to stand on. I have been on unemployment for a couple of weeks. My husband resides in a different state. He was hospitalized. I went to care for him, in his home state, after he got out of the hospital. I was told that I was going to have my benefits denied because I left my home state. I have been applying for jobs on-line, daily, while "away from home". I have done a few telephone interviews and a couple of web interviews, from his home. I have applied to jobs in numberous states, including my own and his. I have not been offered work, in my own state or any other state, that I have declined. When I interview for any position I ask about start dates and am always told that the process will take from 2 weeks to 2 months. I am ready, willing and able to work, if a position becomes available. Although I would gladly tell perspective employers that I am not in their state, I have not had to do so, as I have not been asked for a face-to-face interview. I should be back to my own state by the end of this week...which is shortened because of Veterans Day anyway. Can I be denied Unemployment benefits just beacause I left my home state to care for my ailing husband? He has no income to pay for a nursing facility. I can barely pay my own bills, let alone pay for his medical care, in my absence. He lost his fourth toe, before I arrived. Had I not come to keep him from walking, he would have no doubtedly lost his foot...possibly his leg.

Asked on 11/08/11, 1:45 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Luedeman solo practitioner
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You should file an unemployment appeal and get the matter before an ALJ. Unless you appeal there's no chance of getting anything so what do you have to lose?

Read more
11/09/11, 6:43 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Appeals and Writs questions and answers in Iowa

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88099 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now