Legal Question in Business Law in Iowa

My husband and I own a restaurant and had a waste management service that the contract expired. We've just been paying month by month for now for only two months. They did send us a renewal to sign but we did not sign it. Now when my husband called to cancel they said they automatically renewed it and did not need his signature to do this because it says so on the back of that renewal paper that we did not sign or send back. Can they really hold us to another 3 years contract that way? He tried to call customer service but they were the ones who said we have to pay it or if we cancel it's about 4,000 dollars to do so and get out of the new contract! Help!?

Asked on 10/03/13, 2:45 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Luedeman solo practitioner
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Well, I'd have to see whatever it is that is on the back of the renewal that you did not sign.

Read more
10/03/13, 8:52 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Iowa

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8784 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Business Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now